The Hiding Place

It’s been a while since I last read a non-fiction Christian novel. I’ve had my share of Christian fiction books like Redeeming Love, The Mark of the Lion Series, and the Chronicles of Narnia. All of them are great and encouraging books that I recommend, but I forgot how much more powerful non-fiction books can be.

For the past couple of weeks/months, I’ve felt myself dive into a dry desert. Though I attended Church and Bible studies, I felt as if I was stuck or stagnant in my walk with Christ. A lot of it was because I found it hard to believe that God was really listening to me. It was hard for me to feel or to know His presence in my prayer life. I felt as though I was talking to thin air, and I would always come out of prayer wondering if I was just self-reflecting or talking to God.

I always knew that we could come before God no matter how small or trivial our problems or circumstances could be, but the question remained in my heart if He really was interested in my work, my relationships, and generally my life.

The Hiding Place is an autobiography of Corrie ten Boom, a Dutch watchmaker in Holland during the time of World War II. She, along with her family, hid Jews during that time, was captured, and was sent to a concentration camp in Germany. Throughout the book, Corrie showed great dependence and trust in Jesus in the midst of all the horrible circumstances she found herself in. When she had nothing, she was rich because of what Jesus offered to her. In the concentration camp, she was able to smuggle in a Bible and would lead worship nights with her sister Betsie and lead many people to Christ.

Corrie wasn’t perfect. She struggled to love the Nazis, and she struggled to forgive the man who betrayed her family, and yet she was able to do these things because of Jesus’s help. Her pain and her sufferings were very much real, which made it all the more easy for me to see God’s love and care for her every step of the way. Her life was filled with too many little miracles to call all of it sheer luck. God’s hand was at work.

After Corrie was released from the concentration camp, she cared for people traumatized from the war and traveled all over the world sharing God’s story of how he continuously and actively tries to redeem us. She did this all the way into her nineties.

What fascinates me the most about this book is that it’s real. It’s easy to see the apostle Paul as a super Christian who’s on another level and who never struggled with sin (which isn’t at all true), so it was encouraging for me to see another Christian from a different era carry the same strong faith and trust in Jesus in spite of her circumstances.

After reading this book, I felt encouraged. I craved for that kind of faith. I found myself praying more and relying on Jesus day by day. Suddenly, I was hungry for the Word and hungry to know this great and powerful God. Thank you Corrie for pointing me to this good and sovereign God who cares about all the big and small things.

– P

One thought on “The Hiding Place

Leave a Reply

